Regional Maple Associations

The NYS Maple Producer’s Association, Inc. has seven member regional associations that divide NYS geographically.  If you are a member of the state association, you are automatically a member of one of the seven regions.  Unless you specify that you want membership within a different region, your region is determined by the county of your mailing address as shown in the table below.  If you prefer to have a different “home region” you just need to notify one of the officers of the state association.

The seven regions have their own executive officers, hold meetings in the regional area, and elect delegates to the state association board. This delegate board sets the policies for the state association.  The regions all are independent entities with their own bylaws and treasuries.

The seven regions and the counties within them are:


Northeast New York Maple Producers’ Association:  Franklin, Clinton & Essex

President: Scott St. Mary, 518-593-3688
Vice President: Michael Parker, 518-420-4497
Treasurer: Dean Lashway, 518-593-1434
Secretary: Joy Herfurth, 518-569-5146
State Directors: Scott St. Mary, 518-593-3688 & Joy Herfurth, 518-569-5146
Alternate: Michael Farrell, 518-637-7000 & Michael Parker, 518-420-4497


St. Lawrence Association: St. Lawrence

President: Gavin Mackellar, 315-244-5256
Vice President: Douglas Thompson, 315-287-0024
Treasurer: Linda Newcombe, 315-276-5637
Secretary: Michael Kenny, 315-322-5535
State Directors: Douglas Thompson, 315-287-0024 & Hugh Newton, 315-261-3051
Alternate: Edward Newcombe, 315-276-5636 & Gavin Mackellar, 315-244-5256

Lewis County Maple Producers’ Association:  Jefferson, Lewis, Oswego, Oneida, Upper Herkimer

President: Jake Moser, 315-486-7933
Vice President: Steven Rogers, 315-232-2825
Treasurer:  Shawn Massey, 315-783-5586
Secretary: Leroy Burnham, 315-767-2845
State Directors: Haskell Yancey, Jr., 315-346-6356, & Nadeen Lyndaker, 315-586-3107


Upper Hudson Maple Producers’ Association:  Hamilton, Warren, Fulton, Saratoga, Washington, Rensselaer, Columbia

President: David Campbell, 518-854-7669
Vice President: Michael Bennett, 518-222-4990
Treasurer: Peter Gregg, 518-692-2204
Secretary: Paul Ruger, 518-217-2826
State Directors: Michael Grottoli, 518-642-2856 & Michael Bennett, 518-222-4990
Alternates: Randy Galusha, 518-744-7917 & Kevin Keyes, 518-854-3955

Catskill Maple Producers’ Association: Westchester, Putnam, Orange, Rockland, Dutchess, Sullivan, Greene, Delaware, Ulster, Schoharie, Albany, Otsego, Schenectady, Montgomery, Lower Herkimer

President: Dwayne Hill, 607-437-6942
Vice President: Thomas Kaufman, 607-746-6215
Treasurer: Inge Loft, 607-638-9393
Secretary: Erica Welch, 518-605-2891
State Directors: Tony Van Glad, 607-267-3412 & Dwayne Hill, 607-437-6942
Alternates: Chris Welch, 518-424-4411 & Mark Soukup, 845-264-3137


Central New York Maple Producers’ Association:  Broome, Tioga, Chemung, Schuyler, Tompkins, Cortland, Chenango, Seneca, Cayuga, Madison, Onondaga

President: Michael Blachek, 607-239-5636
Vice President: Josh Ensign, 315-484-3319
Treasurer: Judy Benjamin
Secretary: Sylvia Boice, 607-849-6689
State Directors: Karl Wiles, 315-559-7630 & Don Weed, 315-730-3967
Alternate: Nathan Williams, 315-657-8116 &  John Robinson, Jr., 607-423-7538

Western New York Maple Producers’ Association:  Niagara, Orleans, Monroe, Wayne, Erie, Genesee, Wyoming, Livingston, Ontario, Yates, Chautauqua, Cattaraugus, Allegany, Steuben

9President: Greg Zimpfer, 585-591-1190
Vice President: Robert Wright, 716-474-7474
Treasurer: Lyle Merle, 585-794-3824
Secretary: Bill Moore, 716-492-2714
State Directors: Eric Randall, 585-356-1420 & Greg Zimpfer, 585-591-1190
Alternates: Gordon Putnam, 585-322-5507 & David Schiek, 315-730-0926


Unassigned counties are those on Long Island and in the metropolitan area of New York City: so far we know of no maple producers in these areas.


Board of Directors

 The Next Meeting of the NYS Maple Producers' Association will be held  Friday, January 4th in the Horticulture Building at the New York State Fair. The meeting will begin at 10:00 am. Meetings are open to any member, but we ask that you notify us ahead of time if you...

Best Practices

Potential Sources of Lead Contamination in Maple Syrup and Processing by Exhibit Category.

Maple Weekend

Maple Weekend in 2019 will be publicized by the state association as March 23-24 and March 30-31. This event is intended to provide the public with an informative, entertaining visit to a maple farm to see how the real product is made and to meet the people who make...

Why join NYS Maple Producer’s Association?

We work with New York maple producers to: better woodlot management better processing methods better advertising and marketing $65 Annual Membership Includes: Your maple business listed on Maple promotion materials free or at low cost Use of the Pure NY...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This